REGULAR TOWN BOARD MEETING VILLAGE OF FRANKLIN GROVE LEE COUNTY, ILLINOIS

MAY 13, 2024 MINUTES APPROVE JUNE 10, 2024

Village Hall, 105 E. South Street, Franklin Grove, Lee County, Illinois, was called to order by President David Atkinson at 7:00 p.m.

ROLL CALL

Present: Trustees Shaun Thompson, John Nicholson, Nick Sprague (by phone), Amanda Lanning, Heather Grove, Paul Erisman, Clerk Stephanie Sprague, President David Atkinson (by phone)

Absent: Attorney Dana Considine

MINUTES

Motion made by J. Nicholson, seconded by A. Lanning to approve the meeting minutes of April 8, 2024. Passed: 4/0

VISITORS

Marilyn Spangler informed the board there is a park work day June 5, already have permission to have village employees help install playground equipment.

Summer Park Program July 16 thru August 1 9:00am to noon. Need a portapotty at the park during the summer.

There was a sewer problem at the shelter, Trustee Erisman advised it was plugged at the street, temporary fix but it and needs to be addressed.

Car Show Saturday was wonderful, 80 cars, great turn out, great weather.

Scott Spanger advised there is poison hemlock at the park that needs to be addressed.

VILLAGE CLERK'S REPORT

Motion made by H. Grove, seconded by A. Lanning to pay bills, late bills and future bill of purchase of 238 N State St. Passed: 4/0

LEGAL ISSUES (Attorney Considine)

None

GENERAL ISSUES

Motion made by H. Grove, seconded by P. Erisman to approve the Final Reading of Budget 2024-25. Passed: 4/0

Motion made by J. Nicholson, seconded by A. Lanning to approve the First Reading of Appropriation Ordinance 790-24. Passed: 4/0

Motion made by J. Nicholson, seconded by H. Grove to approve the Committee Assignments changes (see attached). Passed: 4 /0

Motion made by A. Lanning, seconded by H. Grove to approve the Meeting Schedule.

Passed: 4/0

Motion made by H. Grove, seconded by J. Nicholson to approve the Fee Schedule.

Passed: 4/0

Motion made by J. Nicholson, seconded by A. Lanning to approve the contract for purchase of property 238 N State St. with change to lead warning to reflect 238 N. State St. Passed: 4/0

Motion made by H. Grove, seconded by A. Lanning to approve the Resolution to purchase property 238 N State St. Passed: 4/0

COMMITTEE REPORTS

STREETS & ALLEYS

(N. Sprague Chairman)

Trustee Sprague got 2 bids for street repairs at the box culvert by the sewer pond and the end of State St south of the tracks to South St. Bids came in at \$7,600 Martin & Co and \$17,232 Associated.

Also received bids for walking path 10' wide, 850' long. Martin \$14,720, Associated \$18,181.50.

Trustee Sprague will have Braiden Runkle cut a groove in in the west side of the alley by Carl Smith after we receive a letter from Carl Smith indicating those are his wishes to help with the puddle at the end of the alley.

WATER & SEWER

(A. Lanning Chairman)

None

COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT

(H. Grove Chairman)

None

PROPERTIES

(P. Erisman Chairman)

Trustee Erisman advised the board the he received a call from Dollar General inquiring about possible properties.

Sewer line backed up at the women's shelter. President Atkinson suggested talking to Roger Warrenfeltz to see if he has any suggestions.

FINANCE AND INSURANCE COMMITTEE

(S. Thompson Chairman)

None

TOURISM

(J. Nicholson Chairman)

Trustee Nicholson advised there may be some zoning changes necessary for Air BnB's in residential properties.

HISTORIC PRESERVATION/EARLY WARNING

None

Motion made by J. Nicholson, seconded H. Grove to go into Executive Session at 8:31pm to discuss Personnel Matters in accordance with 5 ILCS 120/2(c)(1). Passed: 4/0

Motion made by J. Nicholson, seconded by P. Erisman to come out of Executive Session at 8:43pm. Passed: 4/0

Motion made by A. Lanning, seconded by H. Grove to increase the village employees' hourly wages: Marcelo Aguilar from \$21.36 to \$22.43, Braiden Runkle from \$20.50 to \$21.53 retroactive to May 1, 2024. Passed: 4/0

As no further business was brought before the board, a **motion** to adjourn was made by A. Lanning, seconded by P. Erisman and carried by unanimous vote at 8:45p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Stephanie M. Sprague Village Clerk